HyperV Ubuntu virtual machine open enhanced session adjust resolution enable clipboard

Enhanced sessions are enabled by default on Windows-based virtual machines under HyperV. In the enhanced session, the clipboard and files can be easily shared with the host computer, and the resolution can be easily adjusted when the enhanced session is opened. In Linux systems such as Ubuntu, the default is a basic session, and the resolution adjustment needs to modify the boot file, and the clipboard and the host are independent, which is very inconvenient.

After searching, I found a method to open an enhanced session under Ubuntu 20.04. It is effective after using it, so I record it here.

If you need to open the enhanced session first, you must first enable the second-generation virtual machine option when creating the virtual machine, and turn off Secure Boot when it is first started. Remember not to enable the automatic login option when installing Ubuntu.

Type in the terminal

% wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Hinara/linux-vm-tools/ubuntu20-04/ubuntu/20.04/install.sh % sudo chmod +x install.sh % sudo ./install.sh

Run the following commands in Windows Power Shell and reboot.

> Set-VM -VMName -EnhancedSessionTransportType HvSocket

After restarting, you can see the XRDP login page that Ubuntu enters after the session has been in enhanced session mode after linking the virtual machine. At this time, you can enter the username and password normally.

zh_CNZH-CN

在HyperV下Windows系虚拟机默认就能够开启增强会话。在增强会话下可以方便地和宿主机共享剪切板与文件,并且在增强会话开启时也能够比较方便地调整分辨率。而Ubuntu等Linux系统下则默认为基本会话,分辨率的调整需要修改引导文件,而剪切板和宿主机是独立的非常不方便。

进过查找,找到了一种可以在Ubuntu 20.04下开启增强会话的方法,使用后有效,遂在此记录。

首先需要开启增强会话的话必须先在创建虚拟机的时候开启第二代虚拟机选项,在首次启动的时候关闭Secure Boot。记得在安装Ubuntu的时候不要开启自动登录选项。

在终端下输入

% wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Hinara/linux-vm-tools/ubuntu20-04/ubuntu/20.04/install.sh
% sudo chmod +x install.sh
% sudo ./install.sh

在Windows Power Shell运行以下命令,然后重启。

> Set-VM -VMName <your_vm_name>  -EnhancedSessionTransportType HvSocket

重启后,就能看到链接虚拟机后会话已经为增强会话模式而后Ubuntu进入的XRDP登录页面,此时正常输入用户名密码即可。

Scroll to Top