Hardware Platform Overview

  • Memory is storage space that the processor can directly access. In order to speed up memory access, computer systems usually provide some caches (Cache), which are usually managed by hardware.
  • An I/O device consists of an I/O controller and a physical device, and the processor manages the physical device through the I/O controller. The I/O controller is mainly composed of control and status registers (CSR) and data registers. The processor obtains the device status by reading the CSR, controls the device action by writing the CSR, and exchanges data by reading and writing data registers. The kernel typically abstracts an I/O device into a set of registers, and assigns a register an I/O address. The processor accesses I/O registers through I/O addresses.
  • Many device registers in modern computer systems can be mapped into the physical address space. At this point, each device register has a physical memory address. I/O in this way is called memory-mapped I/O. It is convenient to use but consumes physical memory addresses.
  • Usually, the external memory is abstracted into an array of data blocks, and each data block has a serial number. The processor can randomly read and write any data block in the external memory through the serial number. The operation of external memory is usually in block units, so it is also called external memory as a block device. Correspondingly, other I/O devices are called character devices.
  • The bus is responsible for connecting processors, memory, and I/O controllers. Commonly used buses are ISA, PCI, PCI-E, AGP, ATA, SCSI, etc. The bus is also responsible for detecting and enumerating the devices attached to it.
zh_CNZH-CN

• 内存是处理器可以直接访问的储存空间。为了加快内存访问速度,计算机系统中通常提供了一些高速缓存(Cache),高速缓存通常由硬件管理。
  • I/O设备由I/O控制器和物理设备组成,处理器通过I/O控制器管理物理设备。I/O控制器主要由控制与状态寄存器(CSR)和数据寄存器组成。处理器通过读CSR来获得设备状态,通过写CSR来控制设备动作,通过读写数据寄存器来交换数据。内核通常将I/O设备抽象成一组寄存器,并给一个寄存器一个I/O地址。处理器通过I/O地址访问I/O寄存器。
  • 现代计算机系统中许多设备寄存器可以被映射到物理地址空间中。此时,每个设备寄存器都有一个物理内存地址。这种方式的I/O称为内存映射I/O。使用方便但是会消耗物理内存地址。
  • 通常把外存抽象成一个数据块的数组,每个数据块都有一个序号处理器可以通过序号随机读、写外存中的任何一个数据块。对于外存的操作通常以块为单位,因此又称外存为块设备。对应地,其他I/O设备称为字符设备。
  • 总线负责将处理器,内存,I/O控制器连接起来。常用的总线有ISA、PCI、PCI-E、AGP、ATA、SCSI等。总线还负责检测,枚举接在其上的设备。
Scroll to Top