Summary of paged memory management

In segment-paged memory management, the linear address of a segment is divided into linear pages of equal size (4KB, 4MB, or 2MB, etc.).The physical memory space is also divided into physical pages of the same size. The operating system maintains a page table that manages the mapping of linear pages to physical pages. Page tables are divided into two levels in the IA-32 architecture, namely page directories and page tables
The page directory is an array whose elements are called page directory entries (PDEs), and each page directory entry describes a page table. The size of the page directory is one page (4KB), and there are 1024 page directory entries in a page directory. The size of a page directory entry is 4 bytes.The page table size is one page (4KB).Page table entries are 4 bytes in size, so a page table can describe up to 1024 linear pages.
Physical pages are pre-divided and must start on a 4KB (2^12) boundary. So the lower 12 bits are all zeros. Then the lower 12 bits can store additional information.
P is the presence bit. R/W is the read and write flag. U/S is the user flag, 0 means super user. A is the access flag. D is the dirty flag.
In the page directory entry, the PAT flag is replaced by the PS flag, indicating the physical page size.
The CR3 register specifically stores the physical address of the currently used page directory, so CR3 is also called the page directory base address register. As long as the process is alive, its page directory should remain in memory.
Page directory entries can also directly point to physical pages to speed up address translation. Usually, the page occupied by the operating system kernel is set to a 4MB page. The PS address of the page directory entry is 1, which describes a 4MB page rather than a page table.
The page management mechanism is started by the operating system kernel, and the startup method is to set the PG flag in CR0 to 1.
After the paging mechanism is activated, each linear address needs to be translated from the page directory and the page table. The IA-32 architecture incorporates a cache TIB that stores recently used page directory and page table entries. The frequent refresh of TIBs is the responsibility of the operating system kernel. When page directory and page table entries change, the kernel must invalidate the corresponding entries in the TIB. When CR3 is changed, all content in the TIB (except the Global page) is automatically invalidated. The INVLPG instruction can invalidate the specified entry in the TLB.
zh_CNZH-CN

段页式内存管理中,段的线性地址被分割成大小相等的线性页(4KB,4MB或者2MB等)。物理内存空间同样也被分成相同大小的物理页。操作系统维护一个页表,用于管理线性页到物理页的映射。页表在IA-32体系结构中分为两级,即页目录和页表
页目录是一个数组,其元素叫做页目录项(PDE),每个页目录项描述一个页表。页目录的大小为一页(4KB),一个页目录中有1024个页目录项。页目录项的大小为4字节。页表大小为一页(4KB)。页表项的大小为4字节,所以一个页表最多可以描述1024个线性页。
物理页是预先划分好的,其开始位置一定在4KB(2^12)的边界上。所以低12位全部是零。然后低12位就可以储存而外的信息。
P是存在位。R/W是读写标志位。U/S是用户标志位,0表示超级用户。A是存取标志位。D是脏标志位。
在页目录项中PAT标志换成了PS标志,表示物理页尺寸。
CR3寄存器专门存放当前使用的页目录的物理地址,因此CR3又叫做页目录基地址寄存器。只要进程在活动,它的页目录就应该一直驻留在内存。
页目录项也可以直接指向物理页,加快地址转换速度,通常将操作系统内核所占用的页设置为4MB页。该页目录项的PS地址为1事,它所描述的是一个4MB的页而不再是一个页表。
页式管理机制是操作系统内核启动的,启动方法是将CR0中的PG标志设置为1。
启动分页机制后,每个线性地址都需要经过页目录和页表的转换。IA-32体系结构加入了一个高速缓存TIB,其中储存最近使用的页目录和页表项。TIB的经常的刷新工作由操作系统内核负责。当页目录和页表项改变时,内核必须使得TIB相应的项失效。当CR3改变时,TIB中的所有内容(Global页除外)会自动失效。INVLPG指令可以将TLB中的指定项设置为无效。
Scroll to Top