Extended Concepts of Memory Management

  • Flat-panel memory management. Block out the segment management, completely adopt the page management. The practice is to define a code segment and define a data segment. Both the code segment and the data segment are 4GB in size. The logical address is thus a linear address.
  • Secure tablet-style memory management. The practice is to define the kernel code segment, the kernel data segment, the user code segment, and the user data segment. The base addresses of the four segments are all 0 and the size is 4GB. The kernel segment is used when the process executes the kernel code, and the user segment is used when the user code is executed. Segment address translation is masked, but privilege-based protection features are preserved. For the same process, since its use of the four segments will never overlap, the four segments can be superimposed and regarded as the process flat address space, and the four sets of page directories/page tables can also be merged into one set. After merging, page table entries may represent pages in different segments. The U/S flag of the page table entry is used to distinguish user pages from kernel pages. If the operating system kernel can ensure that there are no overlapping entries in the page directory/page table, the mutual isolation between processes can be guaranteed.
  • Multi-segment memory management. That is, segment management is completely adopted, and page management is shielded.
  • Page-based memory management based on physical address expansion. Later IA-32 systems introduced the Physical Address Extension (PAE) mechanism to support 36-bit physical addresses. In this management mode, the physical address space is expanded to 64GB, but the linear address space is still 4GB. Page directory and page table entries are extended to 64 bits, so the number of entries in a page directory or page table becomes 512, and a page directory can only describe a 1GB linear address space. So a page directory pointer table (PDP) with only four entries is introduced. CR3 points to the PDP. The address translation mechanism is modified. When the PS bit in the page directory entry is set to 1, the page it describes becomes a 2MB page.
  • 64-bit tablet memory management. In 64-bit mode, segments are normally closed and segment bounds checks are no longer done. The base address processors of CS, DS, ES, and SS are all regarded as 0. However, FS and GS may not be 0, and the base address of FS or GS should be added when converting the logical address to the look-ahead address. The base address of FS and GS is a 64-bit address, and only its lower 32 bits are used in compatibility mode, which is recorded in MSR.
In 64-bit mode, the management of memory relies entirely on the paging mechanism. The Intel64 architecture extends the PAE mechanism to support 64-bit linear addresses and 52-bit physical addresses. Extensions include:
  1. The page directory pointer table has been expanded to 512 entries.
  2. A fourth-level page mapping table PML4 is introduced, each entry of which can point to a PDP.
  3. All four-level page table entries are extended to 64 bits.
  4. The PS flag in the page directory entry is used to control 4KB and 2MB pages.
  5. All page table entries have a new execution prohibition flag EXB on the 63rd bit.
zh_CNZH-CN

• 平板式内存管理。屏蔽掉段式管理,完全采用页式管理。做法是定义一个代码段,定义一个数据段。代码段和数据段的大小都是4GB。如此一来逻辑地址就是线性地址。
  • 保护平板式内存管理。做法是定义内核代码段,内核数据段,用户代码段,用户数据段。四个段的基地址都是0大小为4GB进程执行内核代码时使用内核段,执行用户代码时使用用户段。段的地址转化作用被屏蔽,但基于特权级的保护特征被保留。对于同一个进程来说,由于它对四个段的使用绝不会重叠,因此可以将四个段叠加起来,看成是进程平板地址空间,同时也可以将四套页目录/页表合并成一套。合并后,页表项可能代表不同段中的页。页表项的U/S标志用于区分用户页和内核页。如果操作系统内核可以保证页目录/页表中没有重叠的表项,就可以保证进程之间相的互隔离。
  • 多段式内存管理。即完全采用段式管理,屏蔽掉页式管理。
  • 基于物理地址拓展的页式内存管理。后来的IA-32体系引入了物理地址拓展(PAE)机制以支持36位物理地址。该管理模式中,物理地址空间被扩充到了64GB,但线性地址空间仍然为4GB。页目录和页表项被扩充到了64位,因而一个页目录或者页表中的项数变成了512,一个页目录仅能描述1GB线性地址空间。所以引入了一个只有四个表项的页目录指针表(PDP)。CR3指向PDP。地址转换机制被修改。当页目录项中的PS位被设置为1时,它描述的页变成了2MB页。
  • 64位平板内存管理。在64位模式中,段通常被关闭,不再做段界限检查。CS,DS,ES,SS的基地址处理器统统看作0。但FS和GS可以不是0,将逻辑地址转换为先行地址的时候要加上FS或者GS的基地址。FS和GS的基地址位64位地址,兼容模式中只使用它的低32位,记录在MSR中。
在64位模式中,对于内存的管理完全依靠分页机制。Intel64体系结构扩展了PAE机制,使之能够支持64位线性地址和52位物理地址。拓展包括:
  1. 页目录指针表被扩充到了512项。
  2. 引入了一个第四级页映射表PML4,它的每一个表项可以指向一个PDP。
  3. 所有的四级页表表项被扩充到了64位。
  4. 页目录项中的PS标志用于控制4KB和2MB页。
  5. 所有页表项在第63位上新增了一个执行禁止标志EXB。
Scroll to Top